How to do an Effective Electrostatic Demo

I found this oldie but goodie article from the archives on how to do electrostatic demonstrations.  This is one of those pieces of advice that still holds true today and never goes out of style….. I don’t know who wrote it.  But I do know they work for us!

“….While doing electrostatic demos in the past, I frequently asked the customer how my competitor did during his demo. I usually heard very bad comments like:

• His equipment didn’t work!

• Black stuff came out of his pump!

• He didn’t have the right gun!

• His nozzle was wrong!

In general, my competitor just wasn’t prepared! Was I glad that wasn’t me because I would never do a demo that unprepared! Now it was my opportunity to show the customer my “stuff”. I started to carry my demo equipment into the plant (three trips to my car).

Assembly took me almost 30 minutes and of course, I was missing an air hose. I asked the customer for quick disconnect fitting and another 15 minutes went by. The real problem came when I asked the customer for a 5 gallon bucket (clean, of course). He found a bucket that was currently used as a trash can and made an attempt to scrape it clean. Another half hour. Obviously, the customer was not impressed, as we were not spraying paint yet.

Finally 1½ hours later, we have the paint in the system but for some reason it s not wrapping and I find out that the black paint has carbon in it and it is shorting out the electrostatics. On the way back to the office, I am very discouraged and frustrated. Then it dawns on me – “I am my competitor”. I just made the same mistakes that I was laughing at him for doing. I thought could never be that stupid. Boy, it was a long ride back to the office.

During this drive, I started to think. I don’t have to worry about my competition. “I am my competition.” I lost this sale by myself. It was totally my fault as the term “the easiest way to lose a sale is to do a demo” entered my mind.

Then I started to get mad at myself. How could I be so stupid? What can I do so this never happens again? My brain went into the “deep thought” process. “Yes, I do believe I can plan so that this doesn’t happen again and my close ratio on sales will certainly go up as I can then be in control of the situation.”

This is what I decided I must do:

1. All equipment must be cart mounted.

2. All equipment must be assembled – all hoses, fittings, etc. This eliminates any chance of leaving things at the shop.

I must bring with me:

  • Five Gallon bucket with line
  • One gallon cans (new)
  • Rags
  • Solvent for cleaning (one gallon)
  • Zahn cup or Afnor 4 cur
  • Stop Watch
  • Quick disconnect fittings (6 stems will cover most customers)
  • Cart must have an air blow gun (non safety) or a ball valve for quick easy tip cleaning
  • Solvent for conductivity adjustment
  • Paint Meter
  • Anything else?

Yes, this sounds like I have everything and I’ll really be organized and prepared, but what about that “black” hot paint?

Rule #1:

When visiting the customer and asking for the demo date, always collect a one gallon sample to take to

the shop and test. Also, ask for the paint salesman’s name and phone number in case you have questions.

You must carry new one gallon cans in your car.  These can be purchased at any paint store. This will

allow you to spray the paint a day or two before the demo to make sure:

• Your equipment is working at 100%

• The finish is acceptable

• Wrap around is acceptable

• Paint is of the proper conductivity

Now you can call the customer and confirm the date for your successful demo.

Upon arrival at the plant, you will probably chat (bond)

with the customer and then make the decision that it is time to paint.

Rule #2:

After deciding it is time to paint, you must be painting within 10 minutes or less: It’s OK if the customer delays it for some reason. But, you must be ready to paint within 10 minutes. This is not difficult if:

• Equipment is on a cart, assembled and ready to go

• You brought buckets, quick disconnects, etc.

• You tested the paint the day before and selected the

tip and air cap

The customer will:

• Be impressed with you as a professional

• Be impressed with how fast and easy it is to use your equipment

• Be ready to buy because he will have a higher comfort level with you

If you comply with the above rules and follow the I.A.T.E. program, success will be yours.”

Leave a comment